Keep backups for 3 months after Droplet Deletion
I recently lost 4 years of almost daily writing for a community of over 200 sites, due to a billing issue I missed. I thought as I’d been paying for backups for 6 years without ever having to use it this might save my bacon.
The Droplet was deleted 10 days ago, and with it all the backups - everything gone.
My fault. All due to a minor Debit Card issue (I failed to change the card when I got a replacement).
My idea / suggestion is that Digital Ocean change its policy to keep the backups for say 3 months after deletion of the droplet.
This would not cost much, and it would save future idiots like me a lot of pain.
It’s not really a backup if it gets deleted hours after the Droplet is destroyed?